Seda Keskin Avcı is a Professor at the Chemical and Biological Engineering Department and she is the Associate Dean for Research at the College of Engineering, Koc University. Prof. Keskin is the Director of Nanomaterials, Energy and Molecular Modeling Research Group (NEMO).

She is awarded with the European Research Council’s (ERC) Starting Grant with her project COSMOS (Computational Simulations of MOFs for Gas Separations) for 2017-2022 period.  She is the first woman in Turkey who received the ERC grant in the field of engineering. She is elected as EuroMOF International Scientific Committee member in 2019, elected to Global Young Academy (GYA) in 2018 as the first Turkish woman engineer. She serves in the editorial advisory board of the journal of I&EC Research, American Chemical Society.

Prof. Keskin is awarded with Koç University Outstanding Faculty President’s Special Award in 2017, FABED Eser Tümen Outstanding Achievement Award in 2016, ODTÜ Prof. Dr. Mustafa N. Parlar Foundation Research Incentive Award in 2015, the Science Heroes Association Scientist of the Year Award in 2014, Science Academy The Young Scientists Award (BAGEP) in 2014, Koç University Outstanding Faculty Award in 2014, Turkey Academy of Sciences Distinguished Young Scientist Award (GEBIP) in 2013, TUBITAK Encouragement Award in 2013,  L’Oreal Turkey Young Women in Science Award in 2011, European Commission FP7 PEOPLE Marie Curie International Reintegration Grant in 2010, Sigma Xi Best Doctoral Dissertation Award in 2010 and Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering Outstanding PhD Thesis Award in 2010.


Koç University, Chemical and Biological Engineering